I do it, and I do it big. Here's to not forgetting about it.

1:30 AM: 

Awakened by heavy rain. 

3:30 AM: 

Awakened by bladder, observes continuing heavy rain. 

5:30 AM: 

Awakened by Mommy. 

As we sit in the living room, we realize we have to make a game time decision. 

Reasons to Run: 

  1. We’ve driven 150 miles to be here. 
  2. We paid for our registrations. 
  3. We’re awake already. 
  4. It’s just a 5k – not that long in the weather. 

Reasons not to Run: 

  1. We could go back to sleep. 
  2. “I feel congested from my swim yesterday!” – Me 
  3. “I don’t want to get my shoes wet.” Mom

We decided to get dressed and see what conditions were like and make the call at the park. I suppose we saw all the people getting wet and didn’t want to punk out at that point. As Dad dropped us close to the starting line, Mom said she wanted the umbrella, and it turned out she wasn’t joking. She walked to the start with umbrella in tow. I stood next to her anyway. 🙂 

When the race started, I bid her farewell. My goal was to run between a 10 and 11 minute mile. Honestly, it felt like a lot of work, but as I checked my HR it turned out that my mind was weaker than my body. As I ran, I noticed my sinuses cleared. Each mile was slightly faster than the previous! 

Later, I learned that both Mom and I got 3rd place in our age groups. Maybe the really fast people stayed out of the rain? No matter to me! I am thankful that I showed up. I am not sure if I will be able to finish in less than 30 minutes in a week and a half (it took me 33 and change) but I’m going to give it a go! 

  

Comments on: "The Race That Almost Wasn’t: Race Report " (1)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

