I do it, and I do it big. Here's to not forgetting about it.

Just like a man. 

“The road is boring! I won’t like it!”

“Well, what about running through a park? Like on a trail?” 

“Yeah! Sign me up for that!” 

And just like that, Lady J signs up for her first trail run. I had never been SUPER against trail running. I just know the road and saw no pressing need or desire to venture onto the trail. Then there was Adonis, and clearly we’ve seen how he has ways of making me do a 180. He’s happy to be with some trees, I’m happy to be running with him, everybody wins. How bad could it be? So we find a 5k – his first, my first trail run of any kind. 

I liked it. I know that seemed like a segue into a disastrous story, but it wasn’t. Made ya look. 

I wasn’t sure what to expect aside from dirt. I got some dirt. I got some grass. I got a…hill at the very beginning of the race? Like a big ass one. Trail race organizers are jerks. Anyhow, the plan was to stay together and do 4/2 intervals to be very safe, since I wasn’t feeling too hot. The horn sounded and we are a-running. The space in the beginning was very open, and then we went into the woods where we had to run almost single file. 

I’m not gonna lie. It was very pretty! The weather was cool enough for a jacket. We passed a river. I jumped over some roots. We followed the flags that kept us from getting lost. It reminded me of running in elementary school through this trail that was behind campus! 

Indeed, it didn’t feel like quite the pounding road running is, as trail runners love to boast. The vibe was much more chill, which my not so inner-introvert appreciated. I know I will be back on the road, but I am definitely willing to get dirty again. I don’t think I would enjoy any distance longer than a 10k; I like seeing the road in front of me for longer distances. It helps with the epicness in my twisted brain. But I finished second in my age group! That fiancé, always getting me to do new things and rock at them. I’ll keep him. 

  

Comments on: "He made me get dirty: Race Report" (2)

  1. Check out my latest post about running 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

