I do it, and I do it big. Here's to not forgetting about it.

The Sinternet

I do enjoy word play. Heh. 

Social media is an interesting beast. I’ve seen it bring out the best in people. I’ve seen it bring out the worst in people. I believe that it’s merely a means to an end – kind people were kind before social media and jerks were jerks before as well. King Solomon wrote in the Book of Ecclesiastes that there’s nothing new under the sun. Technology simply allows us either to practice virtue or sin more efficiently. 

That being said – I went dark. I deactivated my Facebook profile almost 2 months ago. I realized quickly just how much time I spent on it. I don’t think I was making the best use of my time and feel now that I have been using my time more wisely, in general. 

But – the friends. 

Word on the street is that my presence is missed. Don’t misunderstand – this is not meant to be a “I’m awesome, people enjoy the Internet less without me” post. My first reaction to this is my typical, knee-jerk response. “People do what they want.” If you want someone, you find a way to get her. You call her or text her if you have her number. You ask someone who may know her better for contact information. Not hard. I still live on earth, y’all. 

Clearly the in Lady J is for “judgey”, no? 

I really do believe the above, and it’s been made evident by the people to whom I’m still speaking regularly. Going dark really enables a person to prioritize her relationships. I long for authenticity and value depth over breadth. If I give of myself to you, I want to give the best I am able. It is easier for me to do so with fewer distractions. Facebook is loud, even with minimal use. 

It is interesting to hear how other people describe me. Most of the descriptions are on point. I value my alone time. I am reluctant to commit to anything that’s not related to a fine Greek man. These things, in and of themselves, I do not believe are bad. However, anything can be made bad if handled improperly. What if something I write makes one person’s day better? Wasn’t that worth my time to spread love? Can I honestly say that my alone time is worth more than that? Am I purposely choosing to be less of the neighbor God wants me to be by going dark?

I am not sure. 

I do know that the areas of my life where I am personally most prone to sin have to do with my vulnerability. I try to hide it, and the fewer people that can see into my life, the fewer people know me and the safer I am. 

That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭12‬:‭10‬ NIV)

Paul says I’m doing it wrong. That’s probably worth noting. 

At the end of the day, I just want to be loved and accepted, like everyone else does. Shouldn’t I be actively loving and accepting as many people as possible? Can’t social media be a means to this end? How do I balance giving and receiving love with maintaining my own sanity? 



Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

