I do it, and I do it big. Here's to not forgetting about it.

Some races go better than others. What can I say. 

I registered for a Spartan Race back in September 2014. Since my 2013 New Year’s Resolution to do things that scare me, I’ve been doing just that. I wasn’t sure that I would be able to finish an obstacle race such as this, so I figured this was the time to prove myself wrong. Between September and February, I found me a man to race alongside me, heh heh heh. Spending Valentine’s Day with my boo in a race – what more could a Lady J ask for? 

To be able to do everything perfectly and with great ease, of course. Why are you even asking? 

24 obstacles over 4 + miles. Sigh. The penalty for not completing any of the obstacles was 30 burpees. I was (and still am) battling some bizarre shoulder and foot injury and was trying to get out of it the morning of the race, but the man told me to suck it up. It was his first race, after all. I pretended that it’s not all about me and we showed up at the starting line. Running up and down the stadium steps was the (relatively) easy part for this endurance athlete, but the climbing and the lifting and all the other random crap? 



Do not be fooled by how photogenic I can be. I fell off of this wall shortly after this picture was taken, which basically sums up how my day went. Adonis definitely had the edge over me when it came to the obstacle completion (thank God for that, who could date someone who isn’t strong?) and I was OVER being faced with weakness in my physical capability. The title of this post basically was my mantra after the first hour of the race. I climbed things. I went under things. I faced fears. I said, “screw this!” and went straight to burpees for some of the obstacles. 

I did finish, but I was so annoyed that I couldn’t really enjoy anything except the fact that it was over and now I had a cute picture to take with Adonis. That’s something, I guess. 



Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

