I do it, and I do it big. Here's to not forgetting about it.

How God’s wonders never cease – my golden throated friend is a humble soprano. That’s like a little person playing center for a basketball team, or like a snowy day in Miami. It just doesn’t make sense. But Golden Throat makes it happen every day.

I met my dear Golden Throat 11 years ago at THE Florida State University. She was working on her Master’s when lil Lady J was working on her Bachelor’s and trying not to lose her damn mind. What a blessing it was in the madness of that environment to have someone like her praying for me and with me. Not unlike her boldness on the concert stage, she loves and witnesses for Christ unapologetically. How rare it is to have a true friend who practices the gentle rebuke of Galatians 6:

Brothers and sisters, if someone is caught in a sin, you who live by the Spirit should restore that person gently. But watch yourselves, or you also may be tempted. Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ. (‭Galatians‬ ‭6‬:‭1-2‬ NIV)

Not that Lady J ever sins, of course. But if it were to happen, I know Golden Throat would be on it like a champ.

It sucks, because I haven’t had the privilege of her face to face company since her lovely wedding in June 2009. No matter where life has taken us, I am confident that my sweet sister in Christ will always be in my life.

To Golden Throat. Thanks for helping Lady J to do it.

IMG_3041.JPG

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

