I do it, and I do it big. Here's to not forgetting about it.

So y’all thought I was just going to be shouting out triathletes. There’s more to life than triathlon, you know. I’ve heard.

Peanut Butter and Jelly. Only a fool would try to separate a classic pair like this. I will admit that I once went through a phase when I just ate sandwiches with peanut butter. When I grew weary of peanut butter, I used only jelly. On a whim (because I’m so spontaneous), I put them together again one day. I haven’t looked back since.

There is no metaphor in there. I speak of the actual sandwiches with such passion because that’s how I love them. However – my friends – Peanut Butter and Jelly (the women) I love even more. Prior to writing this post
and titling it as such, I wanted to text them and get their feelings on the sandwich before I named them. I am grateful that there is no subject that is too intense or too mundane to bring to my wonderful friends. They immediately replied with shared enthusiasm about this sandwich staple and gave their thoughts about flavors, textures, and ratios.

My girls. They have known each other since their early childhood and I was blessed to meet them in 1998. For half of my life, I’ve been able to talk to them about all that has been important to me. From studying for tests, applying to college and boys then to work, triathlon, and boys now, Peanut Butter and Jelly have always been there for me. I am grateful that our friendship grows as we grow and have no doubt that wherever life takes us, we will always be there to witness one another’s greatness.

To Peanut Butter and Jelly – thanks for being delicious, and thanks for helping Lady J do it.

IMG_2523.JPG

IMG_2024.JPG

Comments on: "Shoutout Series: Peanut Butter and Jelly" (1)

  1. […] this? Glad you asked. I can’t say that I regret it; I spent the day at the museum with my besties and did some premarital homework with Adonis. However, I am left with some lingering […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

