I do it, and I do it big. Here's to not forgetting about it.

While that may have been the most exhilarating 3 hours, 51 minutes, and 11 seconds of my life, I feel compelled to comment on the 1% I disliked. This, too, contributed to the learning experience and is of note.

1. To the chick on the bike who passed me somewhere between miles 5 and 10 who felt the need to tell me to stay on the right. Yes, “sweetie,” as you called me so endearingly. I know I need to stay on the right, but I saw yo’ crazy ass trying to pass me on the right during a bloody turn. Me and Red Rocket are trying to stay together.

2. To the bystander dude just before mile 1 on the run, who shouted “Good Effort!” as I ran by. Good effort?! Dammit I’m a teacher and I can’t think of when those words have passed my lips. You want to know why? Because it’s what you tell someone when they are sucking. I’m straight with the babies in a way that is much less condescending and still honest. This is not a good effort, fool! Don’t you see me winning?! I look great!

3. This is going to get its own post in the coming days. You know, I like life. And I wasn’t sure I was going to have one between the horn and the finish line. So when I crossed it, I was super happy. Shoot, I am still giggling when I think about it. As I retrieved my belongings, my energy was observed by others. Apparently I didn’t leave all I had on the course – otherwise, I wouldn’t be smiling. I wasn’t aware I was supposed to be miserable when it’s all done. I suppose I should have read my training notes more closely. I am just a beginner, after all. Forgive me for racing incorrectly. I promise next time I will be more bitter at the finish line.

But for now:

20140428-233621.jpg

Comments on: "Some People Suck But God is Good: Race Report, Part II" (2)

  1. You rock, Joanie!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

