I do it, and I do it big. Here's to not forgetting about it.

About 10 years ago, when I decided I wanted to be a teacher, I said it was because I loved being a student and that learning to teach would make me a better student. One look at my résumé will reveal that indeed, I love school. Why not go to school every day and get paid for it? I’ll switch teams!

I had no idea how right I was at the time.

You see, when I said that I wanted to be a better student, my thinking was limited. The bright-eyed and bushy tailed performance major simply figured teaching music was a fantastic way to play music better. I wasn’t wrong – the studies of pedagogy and education have helped me to become a much better pianist with a greater understanding of learning and performing. I’ve frequently said that before graduate school, I knew how to play the piano but not how to play the piano. Marinate on that for a moment! 😉 I’m so thankful that while that is no longer the case, I am in a position where I am able to continue growing not just as music teacher but music student. Yay.

But there’s so much more!

My babies like to make conversation with me at work, and today was no different. In fact, because it is FCAT week, any chance to talk about anything with anyone about something not testing is welcome. I found myself talking to a 9 year old triathlete who is going to do the Kids’ Triathlon at St. Anthony’s this weekend. I listened to her story, which basically went like this:

“It’s going to be so much fun! I practice swimming – I’m not very good at it but I love doing it! I got a new bike for Christmas. Sometimes I fall off but then I get back on and go again. I like to walk and run 5ks with my Grandma. It’s no big deal.”

So, what you’re telling me is that you’re going to have fun despite knowing that you have flaws? Most. Important. Lesson. Ever. She’s put in her training – however imperfectly – and is just going to go out there tomorrow and have a freaking blast. Dammit, why haven’t I learned that lesson yet?

I guess I should stay in school.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

